Theater News

Mark Ruffalo Replaces John Turturro in Broadway Revival of The Price

The cast also features Danny DeVito, Tony Shalhoub, and Jessica Hecht.

Mark Ruffalo will take over for John Turturro in the Roundabout Theatre Company revival of The Price.
Mark Ruffalo will take over for John Turturro in the Roundabout Theatre Company revival of The Price.
(© David Gordon)

Roundabout Theatre Company has announced that John Turturro, who was previously announced to be taking on the role of Victor Franz in the Broadway revival of Arthur Miller's The Price, has left the production due to his filming schedule.

Mark Ruffalo will join the cast in his place at the American Airlines Theatre where the production begins performances February 16 in advance of a March 16 opening. Ruffalo was last seen on Broadway in the 2006 revival of Awake and Sing!, earning a Tony nomination and a Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Ensemble Performance. He joins an ensemble that also includes Danny DeVito (Gregory Solomon), Tony Shalhoub (Walter Franz), and Jessica Hecht (Esther Franz).

In The Price, when the Great Depression cost his family their fortune, Victor Franz gave up his dream of an education to support his father. Three decades later, Victor has returned to his childhood home to sell the remainder of his parents' estate. His wife, his estranged brother, and the furniture dealer hired to appraise their possessions all arrive with their own agendas, forcing Victor to confront a question, long-stifled, about the value of his sacrifice.

The Price first opened on Broadway at the Morosco Theatre on February 7, 1968, where it played until moving to the 46th Street Theatre on November 18, 1968. The production played a total of 429 performances and starred Harold Gary as Gregory Solomon, Pat Hingle as Victor Franz, Kate Reid as Esther Franz, and Arthur Kennedy as Walter Franz. The drama has since received three revival productions, in 1979, 1992, and 1999.

Terry Kinney directs the upcoming Roundabout production. The creative team also includes Derek McLane (sets), Sarah J. Holden (costumes), David Weiner (lights), and Rob Milburn and Michael Bodeen (sound).

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story