Theater News

Clubbed Thumb to Honor Outgoing Board Chair Pam MacKinnon at 2018 Gala

MacKinnon becomes artistic director of San Francisco’s American Conservatory Theater this summer.

Clubbed Thumb will honor director Pam MacKinnon at the company's annual gala on April 30.
Clubbed Thumb will honor director Pam MacKinnon at the company's annual gala on April 30.
(© David Gordon)

Five-time Obie Award-winning theater company Clubbed Thumb will honor director and outgoing board chair Pam MacKinnon at the 2018 Clubbed Thumb Gala on Monday, April 30, at the Etsy Headquarters. MacKinnon departs to take up the position as artistic director of San Francisco's American Conservatory Theater.

"As both an artist and an advisor, Pam has been a part of Clubbed Thumb since its inception," said Maria Striar, Clubbed Thumb's producing artistic director. "She directed a play at the very first Summerworks, and as recently as last June directed a reading as part of the 22nd Summerworks by then-early career writers group member Angela Hanks. Over the years, she has directed plays by Chuck Mee, Carson Kreitzer, Deborah Eisenberg, Erin Courtney, and Gina Gionfriddo for us. We will miss having Pam on our board terribly, but we’re so excited by the new opportunities that lie ahead of her at the helm of American Conservatory Theater."

Special guests for the celebration will include Academy Award nominee Uma Thurman (The Parisian Woman), Pulitzer Prize winner Bruce Norris (Clybourne Park, The Low Road), Jason Biggs (The Heidi Chronicles), Tony Award nominee Phillipa Soo (Amélie, Hamilton), and Itamar Moses (The Band's Visit).

MacKinnon has seven Broadway credits to her name, including the 2012 revival of Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? for which she earned the Tony Award for her direction. Other Broadway productions include Bruce Norris’s Clybourne Park (Tony nomination), the musical adaptation of Amélie, Wendy Wasserstein’s The Heidi Chronicles with Elizabeth Moss and Jason Biggs, and Edward Albee’s A Delicate Balance with Glenn Close and John Lithgow.

For tickets to the 2018 Clubbed Thumb Gala, click here.