TheaterMania Logo
Home link

The Winners of the 2015 Pulitzer Prize Are Announced Today

Last year's winner of the Prize for Drama was Annie Baker's The Flick.

Oscar Williams, Zell Steele Morrow, and Sydney Lucas in a scene from 2014 Pulitzer Prize finalist Fun Home, now playing at Broadway's Cirlce in the Square Theatre.
(© Joan Marcus)

The 2015 Pulitzer Prize winners and nominated finalists will be announced today at 3pm at Columbia University. Finalists are not announced in advance, so this will be the first opportunity to learn of the works that have been under consideration.

Each year, the Pulitzer Prizes are presented by the president of Columbia University on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize board. There are 21 Pulitzer categories. In 20 of those categories the winners receive a $10,000 cash award and a certificate. Only the winner in the Public Service category of the Journalism competition is awarded a gold medal. The Public Service prize is always awarded to a news organization, rather than an individual.

The prizes will be awarded at a luncheon held later in the spring at Low Library on the Columbia University campus.

Last year, the Pulitzer Prize for Drama went to Annie Baker for her play The Flick. The 2014 finalists included Jeanine Tesori and Lisa Kron's current Broadway musical Fun Home, and The (curious case of the) Watson Intelligence.