TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

August Wilson and David Yazbek to Be Honored at Chairman's Awards Gala

Katrina Lenk and the musicians of The Band's Visit will perform in celebration of their composer.

Tony-nominated composer David Yazbek will receive the Creative Achievement Award at the 2018 Chairman's Awards Gala.
(© Allison Stock)

The annual Chairman's Awards Gala will be held on Monday, April 9, at the Pierre New York. The event supports the work of Theatre Forward, currently celebrating its 40th anniversary season, which is dedicated to advancing American theaters and its communities through its Educating Through Theatre and Advancing Strong Theatre initiatives.

The works of Pulitzer Prize- and Tony Award-winning playwright August Wilson (Fences, The Piano Lesson, Jitney) will be honored with the Legacy Award (presented by Academy Award nominee Chazz Palminteri), while Tony Award-nominated composer David Yazbek (The Band's Visit, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, The Full Monty) will be honored with the Creative Achievement Award (presented by six-time Tony Award nominee Danny Burstein). Citi will receive the 40th Anniversary Corporate Leadership Award (presented by LORT president and Guthrie managing director Jennifer Bielstein).

The event will also include performances by Katrina Lenk (The Band's Visit, Indecent) and the musicians of The Band's Visit); Tony Award winner Beth Leavel (The Drowsy Chaperone) and Matthew Sklar (The Wedding Singer), performing a number from the upcoming musical comedy The Prom; Kathryn Bostic (Gem of the Ocean) and Eddie Allen (acclaimed Jazz trumpeter) performing a tribute to August Wilson; and Carrie St. Louis (Wicked, Cruel Intentions), Telly Leung (Aladdin), Julia Murney (Wicked, Hair), and Zak Resnick (Piece of My Heart) performing a 40th anniversary medley directed by Geraldine Anello and choreographed by Patrick O'Neill.

Additionally, there will be a special toast held for Carey Perloff, outgoing artistic director of American Conservatory Theater, and George Smith, former Theatre Forward Board Member. Ethan Slater (SpongeBob SquarePants) and Taylor Louderman (Mean Girls) will also attend to discuss the importance of theater education.

Pamela Farr and Buford Alexander, and James S. and Lynne P. Turley will serve as gala cochairs.

For tickets and more information, click here.