TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Richard Kind, Michael Mulheren, and More Complete Cast of Twentieth Century

Alec Baldwin and Anne Heche will reprise their 2004 Broadway performances for a benefit reading at Studio 54.

Richard Kind joins Roundabout's one-night-only benefit reading of Twentieth Century on April 29.
(© Tricia Baron)

Roundabout Theatre Company has announced complete casting for the one-night-only benefit reading of Ben Hecht and Charles MacArthur's comedy Twentieth Century, in a new adaptation by Ken Ludwig, directed by Walter Bobbie. The reading will take place on Monday, April 29 at 7:30pm at Studio 54.

As previously announced, Alec Baldwin and Anne Heche, who led the company of Roundabout's 2004 production, will return to the roles of Oscar Jaffe and Lily Garland for the event, joined by their former castmates Dan Butler as Owen O'Malley, Stephen DeRosa as First Beard, and Julie Halston as Ida Webb. Also set to perform are Paul Alexander Nolan as George Smith and Henry Winkler as Matthew Clark.

Rounding out the cast will be Nick Choksi as Dr. Grover Lockwood, Holley Fain as Anita Highland, Richard Kind as Max Jacobs, Michael Mulheren as Conductor, and Raji Ahsan, Franklin Bongjio, Daniel Fredrick, and Evan Powell as the Porters.

First produced on Broadway in 1932, Twentieth Century is described as follows: "Bankrupt, with his career on a downslide, egomaniacal Broadway director Oscar Jaffee (Baldwin) boards the Twentieth Century Limited and encounters his former discovery and ex-chorus girl Lily Garland (Heche), now a temperamental Hollywood star. He'll do anything to get her back under contract and back in his bed, but his former protégé will have nothing to do with him. All of the action takes place on board the legendary Twentieth Century train from Chicago to New York City where Oscar has 20 hours to persuade Lily to return to Broadway in his upcoming show. If he fails, it's the end of the line."

The creative team for Twentieth Century includes David Rockwell (sets), Jeff Mahshie (costumes), Donald Holder (lighting), and Shannon Slaton (sound).