TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Nina Lannan and Alan Wasser to Receive Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre

The pair are described as "two of the most successful General Managers in the industry." logo
Nina Lannan and Alan Wasser will be honored with 2017 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre.
(© Joan Marcus/Shevett Studios)

The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced that they will present the 2017 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre to two of the most successful general managers in the industry: Nina Lannan and Alan Wasser.

"Nina and Alan are the driving forces behind some of Broadway's most cherished and long-running musicals, and their individual contributions to the theatrical landscape, not only on Broadway but around the world, are exemplary. We are thrilled to honor them this year," said Heather Hitchens, president of the American Theatre Wing, and Charlotte St. Martin, president of The Broadway League, in a statement.

The Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre were established in 1990 and are awarded annually to institutions, individuals and/or organizations that have demonstrated extraordinary achievement in theater, but are not eligible in any of the established Tony Award categories.

Nina Lannan has served as executive producer and general manager on more than 50 Broadway productions since she began as the assistant general manager on the musical Cats in 1980. Lannan has the distinction of being the first woman to chair the Broadway League, the 80-year-old national trade association for the Broadway theater industry.

Alan Wasser was the founder and chairman of Alan Wasser Associates. In 1986, Wasser Associates general-managed all of Cameron Mackintosh's Broadway and U.S. touring productions. With his business partners Allan Williams, Aaron Lustbader, and Mark Shacket, he later formed Foresight Theatrical LLC, which offers executive-producing, general-managing, booking, press, and other theatrical resources for stage productions both in the United States and overseas.

The American Theatre Wing's 71st Annual Tony Awards will air live from Radio City Music Hall on CBS on Sunday, June 11.

The nominations for the 2017 Tony Awards will be announced live by Tony Award winner Jane Krakowski and 2016 Tony nominee Christopher Jackson on May 2 from the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.

For more information about the 2017 Tony Awards, click here.


Tagged in this Story