TheaterMania Logo
Home link
TV News

Kennedy Center Honors Airs Tonight on CBS With Tribute to Hamilton

Lin-Manuel Miranda and his Hamilton collaborators will be celebrated during the annual broadcast.

Alex Lacamoire (left), Thomas Kail, and Lin-Manuel Miranda at the Broadway opening of Hamilton.
(© David Gordon)

The 41st Annual Kennedy Center Honors will be broadcast tonight on CBS at 8pm EST. Hosted by 2017 Kennedy Center Honor recipient Gloria Estefan, the two-hour special was filmed at the Kennedy Center Opera House in Washington, DC, on December 2.

This year's honorees include singer and actor Cher, composer and pianist Philip Glass, country music entertainer Reba McEntire, and jazz saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter. In addition to the regular honorees, the cocreators of Hamilton — writer and actor Lin-Manuel Miranda, director Thomas Kail, choreographer Andy Blankenbuehler, and music director Alex Lacamoire — will receive a unique Kennedy Center Honor.

The broadcast will feature tribute performances by Kelly Clarkson, Lady Antebellum, Kristen Chenoweth, Brooks and Dunn, Little Big Town, Adam Lambert, and Cyndi Lauper, as well as some of the original Hamilton cast members.