TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Music News

Little Shop of Horrors Cast Album to Be Released This Month

The album will feature Jonathan Groff, Tammy Blanchard, Christian Borle, and the off-Broadway cast.

Jonathan Groff plays Seymour, and Tammy Blanchard plays Audrey in Little Shop of Horrors.
(© Emilio Madrid-Kuser)

Ghostlight Records will release the new off-Broadway cast album of Howard Ashman and Alan Menken's Little Shop of Horrors on December 20 on all streaming platforms. A physical CD release date is to be announced. Alan Menken, Will Van Dyke, Frank Wolf, and Michael Mayer produce the record, alongside executive producers Tom Kirdahy, Robert Ahrens, and Hunter Arnold.

Directed by Michael Mayer, Little Shop of Horrors stars Jonathan Groff as Seymour, Emmy winner Tammy Blanchard as Audrey, and two-time Tony winner Christian Borle as Orin Scrivello D.D.S. The cast alsos include Tom Alan Robbins as Mushnik, Kingsley Leggs as the Voice of Audrey II, Ari Groover as Ronnette, Salome Smith as Crystal, and Joy Woods as Chiffon. Rounding out the company are Stephen Berger, Chris Dwan, Kris Roberts, Chelsea Turbin, Eric Wright, and Teddy Yudain. Gideon Glick assumes the role of Seymour beginning January 21.

The creative team includes choreographer Ellenore Scott, scenic designer Julian Crouch, lighting designer Bradley King, costume designer Tom Broecker, sound designer Jessica Paz, puppet designer Nicholas Mahon, puppets by Monkey Boys Productions, and music supervisor, orchestrator, and arranger Will Van Dyke.

With this run, Howard Ashman and Alan Menken's beloved musical will return to its roots, having premiered off-Broadway in 1982 before being revived on Broadway in 2003 and at New York City Center in 2015. The intimate production will offer "an unprecedented opportunity to get close — maybe too close — to an incredible plant with an insatiable appetite."


Tagged in this Story