Theater News

A Christmas Carol Brings Holiday Cheer to McCarter Theatre Center

Adam Immerwahr helms this new adaptation from David Thompson.

Greg Wood (Ebenezer Scrooge, at center) and company members of A Christmas Carol, directed by Adam Immerwahr, at McCarter Theatre Center.
Greg Wood (Ebenezer Scrooge, at center) and company members of A Christmas Carol, directed by Adam Immerwahr, at McCarter Theatre Center.
(© T. Charles Erickson)

A Christmas Carol begins performances tonight at McCarter Theatre Center.

In this reimagined version of Charles Dickens' classic, Ebenezer Scrooge takes a magical journey through Christmas past, present, and future to learn the true meaning of Christmas. David Thompson adapted the novella for McCarter Theatre Center. Adam Immerwahr directs.

Greg Wood stars as Ebenezer Scrooge. He is joined by Jessica Bedford (Mrs. Cratchit), Elisha Lawson (Young Marley, Ghost of Christmas Future), Warner Miller (Bob Cratchit), Anne L. Nathan (Mrs. Fezziwig, Lady Char, Laundress), Lance Roberts (Solicitor David, Mr. Fezziwig), Jamila Sabares-Klemm (Lily, Belle), A.J. Shively (Solicitor Matthew, Young Scrooge), Sue Jin Song (Mrs. Dilber), JD Taylor (Fred, Undertaker), and Frank X (Old Marley, Old Joe).

"I’ve always felt that, at its core, A Christmas Carol is a moving reminder of what it means to open our hearts and help each other," said artistic director Emily Mann. "It brings me great joy that our new production features members of our own community, celebrating local talent and truly reflecting the world we live in, day to day."

The ensemble cast includes Stan Karuzis, Kirk Ponton, Elias Malavet, Jeffrey Knoll, Scott Karlin, Ithamar Francois, Lew Gantwerk, Valencio Lazarczyk, Camillo Lazarczyk, Arielle Rabano, Tara Parkman, Emily Solo, Mimi Francis, Connor Crafton Marrone, Linda Palmarozza, Amy Blair, Faith E. Iloka, Gloria Schnure, Bryanna Martinez-Jimenez, Ashley Lynn Medina, Marie Fiorello, Rupal Patel, and Thom V. Kummerle.

Completing the cast is the Youth Ensemble including Gabriella Shapcott, Russell Clark, Candace Beverly, Graham Beers, Sofia DaCruz, Zach McDevitt, Miriam Foster-Swartley, Ethan Chang, Tashi Lakkaraju, Liam McKernan, Ivy Cordle, Xander Kurian, Kelsey Carroll, and Kristin Devine.

The creative team includes Michael Friedman (composer), Lorin Latarro (choreographer), Daniel Ostling (set design), Linda Cho (costume design), Lap Chi Chu (lighting design), Darron L West (sound design), Jeremy Chernick (special effects design), Charles Sundquist (musical director), and Gillian Lane-Plescia (dialect coach).

Performances run through December 31.

For more informatino and tickets, click here.

Featured In This Story

A Christmas Carol

Closed: December 31, 2016