TheaterMania Logo
TV News

Smash DVD to Be Released on January 8 logo

The first season of NBC's hit musical drama Smash will come out on DVD on January 8, 2013, according to

The series, which deals with the behind-the-scenes drama of a new Broadway musical about Marilyn Monroe, was created by playwright Theresa Rebeck, and features original songs by Tony Award winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman.

The cast includes Debra Messing, Christian Borle, Anjelica Huston, Megan Hilty, Katharine McPhee, Jack Davenport, Jaime Cepero, Leslie Odom, Jr, Raza Jaffrey, and Brian d'Arcy James. First-season guest stars included numerous stage veterans, including Bernadette Peters, Nick Jonas, Will Chase, and Michael Cristofer.

The DVD version will also feature a gag reel, a behind-the-scenes feature with songwriters, and additional deleted and extended scenes from the first season.

The show's second season is expected to air in Winter 2013, and will feature numerous new cast members and guest stars, including Jennifer Hudson, Jesse L. Martin, Nikki Blonsky, Jeremy Jordan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Daniel Sunjata, Andy Mientus, and Krysta Rodriguez.


Tagged in this Story