TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Seth Rudetsky to Host The Concert, Featuring Best of Contemporary Stage Composers

Morgan Billings, Robin de Jesus, Mary Testa and more will perform in a concert celebrating contemporary theater writers.

Seth Rudetsky
(© Tristan Fuge)
Broadway veteran and Sirius XM radio personality Seth Rudetsky (The Ritz) will host The Concert, a kick-off event for David Sisco and Lorene Phillips' Directory of Contemporary Theatre Writers website, on January 21 at Second Stage Theatre.

The Directory of Contemporary Theatre Writers is described as an exhaustive resource for persons or researchers seeking out modern lyricists and composers whose work has largely gone unpublished or self-published, making it difficult for the music to be catalogued. The Directory currently includes 360 songs across 25 different categories, an effort which Sisco and Phillips' believe will preserve great work by rising talents while energizing the vocal audition field with a new crop of songs.

Broadway favorites who are set to perform the works of 18 of The Directory's 26 writers, include Morgan Billings (The Sound of Music), Nick Blaemire (Godspell, Nick Blaemire and The Hustle), Jeff Blumenkrantz (A Class Act), Harry Bouvy (Silence! The Musical), Darius de Haas (Xanadu), Jason Gotay (Bring It On: The Musical), Kenita Miller (The Color Purple), Mamie Parris (Wicked) , Randy Redd (Million Dollar Quartet) , Kristine Reese (Les Misérables), Drama Desk Award nominee Bryce Ryness (Hair), Andrew Samonsky (South Pacific), Sheri Sanders (Hair), Elizabeth Stanley (Company), Lucas Steele (The Kid), Sam Tedaldi (The Lovely Bones), and Drama Desk Award winner Mary Testa (Queen of the Mist).

The Directory's writers whose work will be featured in The Concert are Brad Alexander (See Rock City & Other Destinations), Adam Mathias (See Rock City & Other Destinations), Will Aronson, Bill Nelson, Jeff Blumenkrantz (Urban Cowboy), John Bucchino (A Catered Affair), Patrick Cook, Frederick Freyer, Anna Dagmar, David Gaines, Charlie Sohne, Jenny Giering, Tom Gualtieri, David Sisco, Michael Kooman, Christopher Dimond, Daniel Maté, Chris Miller, Nathan Tysen, Peter Mills (The Pursuit of Persephone), Adam Overett, Rachel Peters, Nadav Wiesel, Sam Willmott, Michael Wartofsky, and Barry Wyner.

Laura Josepher will direct the concert, and Matt Castle will serve as musical director. A portion of the evening's proceeds will go to the Dramatists Guild Fund.