TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lauren Flanigan, Marc Kudisch, Rufus Wainwright, et al. Set for New York City Opera American Voices Concert

Lauren Flanigan
New York City Opera has announced additional details for its 2009-2010 season, its first under artistic director George Steel, to take place at the David H. Koch Theater in Lincoln Center.

The season will begin on November 5 with the gala American Voices concert, which will feature Amy Burton, Joyce Castle, Anna Christy, Joyce DiDonato, Lauren Flanigan, Anthony Dean Griffey, Marc Kudisch, Samuel Ramey, maestros George Manahan and Julius Rudel, debut singers Measha Brueggergosman, Talise Trevigne, and Kelley O'Connor, the New York City Opera Orchestra and Chorus, the New York City Ballet, and special guest Rufus Wainwright.

The company will present five full productions this year. First up is Charles Kondek and Hugo Weisgall's Esther (November 7-19), to be directed by Christopher Mattaliano and choreographed by Jennifer Muller. Flanigan will once again play the title role (as she did in 1993), alongside Branch Fields, Beth Clayton, Roy Cornelius Smith, Margaret Thompson, Stephen Kechelius, and Gerald Thompson.

The first new production of the season will be Christopher Alden's staging of Mozart's Don Giovanni (November 8-22), featuring Daniel Okulitch in the title role, alongside Jason Hardy, Stefania Dovhan, Brian Kontes, Gregory Turay, Keri Alkema, Joelle Harvey, and Kelly Markgraf.

The 2010 repertory begins with Mark Lamos' production of Chabrier's Étoile (March 18-April 3), featuring choreography by Sean Curran, and starring Emmanuel Plasson, Jennifer Zetlan, Julie Boulianne, Liza Forrester, Jean-Paul Fouchecourt, Andrew Drost, Dominic Armstrong, and Francois Loup.

Lamos' production of Puccini's Madama Butterfly (March 19-April 18) will be presented with two separate casts, headlined respectively by Shu Ying-Li and Yunah Lee, and the season will conclude with Francisco Negrin's production of Handel's Partenope (April 3-17), starring Cynthia Seiden, Laura Vlasak Nolen, Iestyn Davies, Anthony Roth Costanzo, and Daniel Mobbs.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story