Theater News

The Drama League Directors Project Announces 2017 Fellows

The group will be presented at this year’s Drama League Awards.

Flordelino Lagundino is part of the Drama League Directors Project.
Flordelino Lagundino is part of the Drama League Directors Project.
(photo provided by The Drama League )

The Drama League has announced its 2017 Directing Fellows of the Drama League Directors Project.

The list includes Michael Alvarez, Laura Brandel, Jillian Carucci, Tom Costello, Matt Dickson, Justin Emeka, Bonnie Gabel, Flordelino Lagundino, Rebecca Martinez, Kholoud Sawaf, and Gabriel Vega Weissman.

These early-career directors will begin their fellowship year by being presented during the 83rd Annual Drama League Awards, which will be held on Friday, May 19, at the Marriott Marquis Times Square.

The 11 Fellowship recipients, who will spend the next year as part of the program, have been accepted into four different programs of study: the Fall Directing Fellowships; the Hangar Directing Fellowships (a partnership with the Hangar Theatre in Ithaca), the Classical Fellowship for Directors of Color (a partnership with the Old Globe of San Diego; the Hudson Valley Shakespeare Festival; and Shakespeare & Company); and the Leo Shull New Musicals Directing Fellowship.

Recipients in the Drama League’s Fellowship in Film and Television will be announced at a later date.