TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Thomas Derrah, Daniel Jenkins, Kenny Leon, Will Lyman, Estelle Parsons, Rachel York, et al. Win IRNE Awards

Will Lyman
The winners of the 2011 Independent Reviewers of New England (IRNE) Awards have been announced.

In the IRNE award categories for large companies, American Repertory Theatre's production of The Blue Flower won six Awards including for Best New Musical. In addition, performer Daniel Jenkins won as Best Actor in a musical while Meghan McGeary won as Best Supporting Actress in a Musical. Also, the theater's production of Cabaret received two awards, for Best Ensemble and for Thomas Derrah, who was named Best Supporting Actor in a Musical.

Huntington Theatre Company's Stick Fly received the award for Best Production and Best New Play as well as one for director Kenny Leon. In addition, Will Lyman and Karen MacDonald were named Best Actor and Best Actress in a Play for their work in All My Sons, while Ronete Levinson and Stephen Lee Anderson received awards for their supporting performances in Bus Stop.

Other awards for large companies have gone to Reagle Music Theatre's Into the Woods for Best Actress in a Musical Rachel York and Stacey Stephens, who won Best Director of a Musical. In addition, the national tour of Tracy Letts' August: Osage County received the award for Best Visiting Production, and the show's star, Estelle Parsons, was named Best Visiting Performer.

Among the awards handed out to smaller companies, Metro Stage's production of A Little Night Music received awards for lead performers Tracy Nygard and James Fitzpatrick and for supporting actors Robert Case and Shana Dirik. Lyric Stage Company's revival of Nicholas Nickleby also received four awards, including Best Play (Midsize) and Best Supporting Actor for Jason Powers as well as one for Best Ensemble. Seth Rudetsky won the award for visiting production for Deconstructing B'Way.

For a complete list of winners, click here.