TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Audra McDonald to Receive Signature Theatre's Stephen Sondheim Award

McDonald has won six Tonys for performances in Carousel, Ragtime, and more.

Audra McDonald will receive the Stephen Sondheim Award from Signature Theatre.
(© David Gordon)

Audra McDonald will be honored with Signature Theatre's 10th annual Stephen Sondheim Award, presented at a black-tie gala at the Embassy of Italy on March 4. The Sondheim Award Gala benefits the Virginia-based theater's artistic, education, and community programs.

McDonald has won six Tony Awards for performances in Carousel, Master Class, Ragtime, A Raisin in the Sun, The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess, and Lady Day at Emerson's Bar & Grill. She also received a 2015 National Medal of Arts, America's highest honor for achievement in the arts, from President Barack Obama.

The Stephen Sondheim Award was created in 2010 to recognize the importance of Sondheim's work to Signature and to theater in general. Past recipients include Sondheim musical veterans Angela Lansbury, Bernadette Peters, Patti LuPone, composer John Kander, director Harold Prince, and orchestrator Jonathan Tunick.