TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Lincoln Center Theater Announces Five Playwrights for New Writers in Residence Program

The company initiates its second class of residents.

Michael R. Jackson joins Lincoln Center's New Writers in Residence Program.
(© Allison Stock)

Lincoln Center Theater (under the direction of André Bishop) has invited five playwrights to join its New Writers in Residence Program. The program, which was established in 2016, supports LCT's ongoing effort to open its doors to the next generation of writers.

Spearheaded by LCT3 artistic director Evan Cabnet and associate director Natasha Sinha, the no-strings-attached residency provides a home to new writers with the use of free office space and other resources to enable them to create, hone their craft, and continue their creative growth in New York City.

This year's resident playwrights are Jaclyn Backhaus (Men on Boats), Michael R. Jackson (A Strange Loop), Christina Masciotti (Raw Bacon from Poland), Grace McLean (Marya D in The Great Comet), and Korde Arrington Tuttle (Clarity).

They join last year's inaugural class of New Writers in Residence: Ngozi Anyanwu, Jocelyn Bioh, Sarah DeLappe, Olivia Dufault, Phillip Howze, Julia Jarcho, Jason Kim, and Jiehae Park.