TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Chita Rivera, Jim Dale, and More Set for Urban Stages' Winter Rhythms 2017

This year's ninth annual edition of the series is dedicated to the late Barry Levitt.

Chita Rivera will participate in a tribute to Michael Stewart as part of Urban Stages' Winter Rhythms 2017.
(© David Gordon)

Urban Stages announced the lineup for Winter Rhythms 2017, this year's ninth annual edition of the company's musical event. Winter Rhythms will begin December 12 and will run through December 23 at Urban Stages Theatre.

This year's series is dedicated to the late jazz and cabaret musician, musical director, and composer Barry Levitt. The opening-night performance on December 12 will be a concert celebrating his life and music, and will include Tony Award winner Trezana Beverley, Deb Berman, Dawn Derow, Helena Grenot, Janice Hall, Sunny Leigh, Brian Charles Rooney, Andrea Bell Wolff, and more to be announced.

In addition, Winter Rhythms 2017 will include a special event performance on December 18, The Musicals of Michael Stewart: Dolly!, Birdie, 42nd Street and More! Guests will include Chita Rivera, Jim Dale, Lee Roy Reams, Caroline O'Connor, Mark Bramble, Charles Strouse, Doug Katsaros, Sal Viviano, and more to be announced.

Highlights of the rest of the 22-show schedule include Andrea Bell Wolff in Prisoner of Love, which features arrangements by Barry Levitt, on December 16; Stearns Matthews performing December Songs and other works by Maury Yeston on December 20; and a 20th-anniversary concert of Stephen Cole and Matthew Martin Ward's After the Fair featuring Jenn Gambatese, Tim Jerome, and Joshua Hinck on December 21.

Winter Rhythms 2017 will close on December 23 with From All of Us to All of You: Seasonal Songs and Disney, Too, which mixes holiday standards with songs from Disney movies. Stephen Hanks will host, with appearances by Gabrielle Stravelli, Marieann Meringolo, Rosemary Loar, Jeff Macauley, Sandra Bargman, Sierra Rein, Joshua Lance Dixon, Julie Reyburn, Billie Roe, Brian Charles Rooney, Carly Ozard, Charlotte Patton, Blake Zolfo, Hechter Ubarry, Liz Lark Brown, Rob Davis, Renn Woods, Matthew Martin Ward, Michael Raye, and more to be announced.

For tickets and more information, click here.