Photo Flash

Stephanie J. Block, Debra Messing, Chita Rivera Solve Broadway’s Mystery of Edwin Drood on Opening Night

Patricia Clarkson, Victor Garber, and Debra Messing were among the stars on hand to cheer on the opening of Rupert Holmes’ Tony Award-winning musical.

Roundabout Theatre Company’s Studio 54 was transformed into London’s Musical Hall Royale when Scott Ellis’ revival of Rupert Holmes’ The Mystery of Edwin Drood officially opened on Tuesday, November 13.

The Tony Award-winning musical, which first played on Broadway in 1985, follows a group of actors as they perform their version of Charles Dickens’ legendarily unfinished novel The Mystery of Edwin Drood, using the audience to determine the nightly-changing ending.

The full company includes Stephanie J. Block (Edwin Drood), Will Chase (John Jasper), Gregg Edelman (Reverend Mr. Crisparkle), Jim Norton (Chairman) and Chita Rivera (Princess Puffer) with Andy Karl (Neville Landless), Jessie Mueller (Helena Landless), Betsy Wolfe (Rosa Bud), Nicholas Barasch (Deputy), Peter Benson (Bazzard), Robert Creighton (Durdles), Alison Cimmet, Nick Corley, Janine DiVita, Jenifer Foote, Justin Greer, Shannon Lewis, Spencer Plachy, Kiira Schmidt, Eric Sciotto, Jim Walton, and Cody Williams.

Guests at the performance included Sebastian Arcelus, Polly Bergen, Susan Blackwell, Mark Brokaw, Patricia Clarkson, Margaret Colin, Jim Dale, Tovah Feldshuh, Victor Garber, Christopher Innvar, Byron Jennings, Nathan Johnson, Simon Jones, Elaine Joyce, Marc Kudisch, Stephen Lang, Linda Lavin, Carolyn McCormick, Debra Messing, Debra Monk, Orfeh, Laura Osnes, Sherie Rene Scott, Neil Simon, and Julie White.

The creative team includes Warren Carlyle (choreographer), Paul Gemignani (musical director), Anna Louizos (sets), William Ivey Long (costumes), Brian Nason (lighting), and Tony Meola (sound).

Click here for more information and tickets to The Mystery of Edwin Drood.