Theater News

Nominees Announced for 2013 Clive Barnes Awards

Susan Stroman and Wendy Whelan will present the honors at a ceremony at Lincoln Center’s Walter Reade Theatre in January.

Phillipa Soo
Phillipa Soo
(© David Gordon)

Rising theater stars Aaron Clifton Moten (The Flick), Jonny Orsini (The Nance), Phillipa Soo (Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812), and Amber Iman (Soul Doctor) have been nominated for the 2013 Clive Barnes Award, an honor recognizing the work of young actors and dancers in New York City.

On the dance side of the award, nominees are Talli Jackson (Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company), Lloyd Mayor (Martha Graham Dance Company), Xiaochuan Xie (Martha Graham Dance Company), and Calvin Royal III (American Ballet Theatre).

One nominee from each category will receive an award. Winners will be announced during a January 6 ceremony at Lincoln Center's Walter Reade Theatre, where Susan Stroman and Wendy Whelan will bestow the honors.

The Clive Barnes Awards are presented by the Clive Barnes Foundation, named in honor of the late theater and dance critic.

Featured In This Story