Theater News

Lincoln Center to Host Eighth Annual Yale Drama Series Prize Award Ceremony

Pulitzer Prize winner Marsha Norman selected Janine Nabers as the 2014 recipient.

Janine Nabers is the 2014 recipient of the Yale Drama Series Prize.
Playwright Janine Nabers earned the 2014 Yale Drama Series Prize for her play Serial Black Face.

The prestigious Yale Drama Series Prize will be presented to Janine Nabers for her play Serial Black Face at the eighth annual award ceremony on Thursday, September 11, at Lincoln Center's Claire Tow Theater. Nabers was selected for the prize out of 1,638 entries from 41 countries by Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Marsha Norman (The Bridges of Madison County, 'night, Mother), who served as judge for both the 2013 and 2014 competitions.

The Yale Drama Series Prize is awarded annually to an emerging playwright for a play selected by a preeminent playwright. The international, open-submission competition bestows the winner with the David Charles Horn Prize of $10,000, publication of his or her winning play by Yale University Press, and a staged reading. Carolyn Cantor will direct a staged reading of Serial Black Face following the award ceremony.

Previous winners of the Yale Drama Series Prize include John Austin Connolly (selected by Edward Albee in 2007), Neil Wechsler (selected by Edward Albee in 2008), Fraces Ya-Chu Cowhig (selected by David Hare in 2009), Virginia Grise (selected by David Hare in 2010), Shannon Murdoch (selected by John Guare in 2011), Clarence Coo (selected by John Guare in 2012), and Jen Silverman (selected by Marsha Norman in 2013).