Gloria Steinem and Lupita Nyong’o Join the Lilly Awards' List of Presenters

Additional honorees, including ”Waitress”’ Jessie Mueller, have also been announced.

Gloria Steinem will be among the presenters at the 7th Annual Lilly Awards.
Gloria Steinem will be among the presenters at the 7th Annual Lilly Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The seventh annual Lilly Awards have announced presenters and added honorees to the May 23 awards ceremony. Honorees will now include Tony Award winner and 2016 Tony Award nominee Jessie Mueller (Waitress), Kathy Najimy, Genne Murphy, Candis Jones, Rehana Lew Mirza, and the women of Waking the Feminists as well as the previously announced Danai Gurira, Martha Plimpton, Kate Whoriskey, and Mia Katigbak. The Lilly Awards will be presented at the Pershing Square Signature Center.

Writer, political activist, and feminist organizer Gloria Steinem, along with Academy Award winner and 2016 Tony Award nominee Lupita Nyong’o and her costars from Broadway's Eclipsed, will be on hand to present awards. Other presenters will include Lloyd Suh, Russell G. Jones, Rachel Chavkin, and Neena Beeber.

The Lilly Awards will also recognize Norbert Leo Butz and his organization, the Angel Band Project, and will announce the winners of the $25,000 Stacey Mindich Prize and the Leah Ryan Prize. The evening will also boast special musical performances by Rebecca Naomi Jones, Amanda Green, and Georgia Stitt.

The Lilly Awards, which honor the extraordinary contributions made to the American Theater by women, began in 2010. The founders of the Lillys are Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman, and Theresa Rebeck. The awards are named for Lillian Hellman, a pioneering American playwright who famously said, "You need to write like the devil and act like one too when necessary."

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story