Theater News

Brandon Victor Dixon, Stephanie J. Block, and More to Perform at Drama Desk Awards

Tommy Tune, Adriane Lenox, and others have been announced as presenters.

Hamilton's Brandon Victor Dixon is set to perform at this year's Drama Desk Awards.
Hamilton's Brandon Victor Dixon is set to perform at this year's Drama Desk Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The 62nd annual Drama Desk Awards have announced the performances and presenters planned for this year's June 4 event. Michael Urie (Buyer & Cellar), a past host and two-time Drama Desk Award winner himself, will return to emcee the show, which is set to take place at Town Hall.

The ceremony will feature musical performances from Stephanie J. Block (Falsettos), Jenn Colella (Come From Away), Katrina Lenk (The Band's Visit), and the cast of The Lightning Thief: The Percy Jackson Musical. In addition, Drama Desk Award winner and Tony Award nominee Brandon Victor Dixon (Hamilton) will perform an In Memoriam tribute.

Among the presenters at the 2017 Drama Desk Awards will be Hal Prince, Tommy Tune, Danny Burstein, Adriane Lenox, Christopher Fitzgerald as well as designers Brian MacDevitt, David Rockwell, Dan Moses Schreier, Paul Tazewell, and others.

The Drama Desk Awards are an annual celebration of the best of Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway talent. Each year, the Drama Desk's voters select winners from the pool of artists nominated in each of its 30 categories. Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show, which will be written by Jonathan Tolins and directed by Mark Waldrop. For the sixth consecutive year, TheaterMania will present the ceremony.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story