TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Boo Killebrew, Harrison David Rivers Among Playwrights in Public Theater's 2012-13 Emerging Writers Group

Harrison David Rivers
The Public Theater has announced the 10 playwrights who have been selected as the 2012-13 Emerging Writers Group, a bi-annual program that targets playwrights at the earliest stages of their careers and nurtures their artistic growth by providing necessary resources and support.

Selected playwrights include Manuel Borras, A-Lan Holt, Boo Killebrew, Andrew Kramer, Brian "Dyalekt" Kushner, Mary Kathryn Nagle, Harrison David Rivers, Riti Sachdeva, Susan Soon He Stanton, and Kyle Warren.

Each writer will receive a two-year fellowship at The Public which includes a $6,000 stipend; participation in a biweekly writers' group led by Literary Manager Liz Frankel; master classes with established playwrights; professional development and artistic support from acclaimed writers as well as Public artistic staff; complimentary tickets to Public shows; supplemental ticket stipends for productions at other theaters; and a reading of their work in the biannual "Spotlight Series."