TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Ann Reinking and Ben Vereen to Host 2019 Chita Rivera Awards

Graciela Daniele and the producers of Broadway's The Cher Show will receive special honors at the event.

Ben Vereen and Ann Reinking will cohost the 2019 Chita Rivera Awards on May 19.
(© David Gordon / Joseph Marzullo)

Tony Award winners Ann Reinking (Chicago) and Ben Vereen (Pippin) will host the 2019 Chita Rivera Awards, taking place at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts on Sunday, May 19 at 7:30pm. The awards are produced by Joe Lanteri, founder and executive director of the New York City Dance Alliance Foundation, in conjunction with Patricia Watt.

As previously announced, dancer, choreographer and theater director Graciela Daniele will receive the third annual Lifetime Achievement Award, while Flody Suarez, Jeffrey Seller, and Cher (producers of The Cher Show on Broadway) will receive the Ambassador for the Arts Award, honoring their contribution to the convergence of theater, film, and television.

Carrying the name of one of the great dance icons of the American musical theater, the Chita Rivera Awards celebrate dance and choreographic excellence past, present, and future. The nominations for the Chita Rivera Awards will be announced on Friday, April 26, and the nominee reception will be held on Monday, April 29.