TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Murder for Two's Brett Ryback to Receive 2016 Cole Porter Award

The emerging composer/lyricist will be recognized at the ASCAP Foundation's annual ceremony.

Brett Ryback will be honored with the 2016 Cole Porter Award on December 14 at Jazz at Lincoln Center.
(© provided by Matt Ross PR)

Brett Ryback has been announced as the 2016 recipient of the ASCAP Foundation Cole Porter Award, presented annually to an emerging composer/lyricist.

He will be celebrated at the 2016 ASCAP Foundation Honors, to be held on Wednesday, December 14. The invitation-only event will be held at the Appel Room and Ertegun Atrium in Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall.

Established in 2009 with a gift from the Cole Porter Musical and Literary Trusts, the ASCAP Foundation Cole Porter Award is presented annually to an emerging composer/lyricist whose work shows promise, and who has participated in the ASCAP Foundation Musical Theatre Workshop. Ryback's musical Joe Schmoe Saves the World was featured in the ASCAP/Dreamworks Musical Theatre Workshop in Los Angeles this past February.

In an exclusive statement to TheaterMania, Ryback said, "Michael Kerker and ASCAP have been incredible advocates for emerging musical-theater writers and I feel grateful to have received his support and the support of the ASCAP Foundation via this award. It's a very encouraging honor."

An actor, composer/lyricist, and playwright, Ryback originated the role of Marcus in Murder for Two off-Broadway. His plays and musicals include: Liberty Inn: The Musical (Ovation nominations Best Book, Best Music/Lyrics); Darling (Weston Playhouse New Musical Award, Featured on NBC's The Apprentice); The Tavern Keeper's Daughter (Best Musical, Pasadena Weekly); and Joe Schmoe Saves the World (NAMT Festival of New Musicals). He is a multi-year participant at the Johnny Mercer Writer's Colony at Goodspeed, and is currently developing two new musicals, Passing Through and Nate the Great.

Past recipients of the Cole Porter Award include Peter Mills, Sam Willmott, and Daniel Maté.