TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Recipients Announced for 2016 Equity Jeff Awards

Chicago productions of The Tempest, Ride the Cyclone, and more have been honored.

The creative team of Ride the Cyclone: Jeff Award-winning director Rachel Rockwell, flanked by writers Jacob Richmond and Brooke Maxwell.
(© David Gordon)

Recipients of the 48th Annual Equity Jeff Awards were announced at a gala event held at Drury Lane Oakbrook Terrace on October 17. Notable winners in a season of outstanding productions included The Tempest, which was reimagined at Chicago Shakespeare Theater as a traveling tent show and was recognized for Production-Play for a large theater, direction of a play by Aaron Posner and Teller, magic design by "The Great Tomsoni" Johnny Thompson, and lighting design by Thom Weaver.

Porchlight Music Theatre's Dreamgirls was honored with awards for Production-Musical for a midsize theater, principal actress Donica Lynn, supporting actor Eric Lewis, and costume designer Bill Morey. Paramount Theatre's West Side Story received awards for Production-Musical for a large theater, newly named the Dr. Harlan Haimes Award as well as for supporting actress Mary Antonini and choreographer William Carlos Angulo, while the award for Production-Play of a midsize theater went to United Flight 232, produced by the House Theatre of Chicago. In addition, United Flight 232's cast was honored with the ensemble award, sponsored by Actors' Equity Association.

Rachel Rockwell received the honor for director of a musical in a large theater for Ride the Cycolone, the story of school choir members who compete for another chance at life after a roller coaster crash. Rockwell's production is set to have its New York premiere at MCC's Lucille Lortel Theatre November 9-December 18 .

Brian Quijada was recognized with solo performance and sound design awards for his original autobiographical play Where Did We Sit on the Bus?, produced by Teatro Vista in association with the Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events and Victory Gardens Theater.

For a full list of winners, click here.


Tagged in this Story