TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Audra McDonald, Matthew Broderick, and More to Be Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame

Marin Mazzie, Tina Howe, and Oskar Eustis are among the other inductees.

Matthew Broderick is among this year's inductees to the Theater Hall of Fame.
(© Tricia Baron)

The Theater Hall of Fame has announced its 2017 roster of inductees.

This year's list of acclaimed artists and theater professionals includes Tony Award winner Matthew Broderick (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, The Producers), Public Theater artistic director Oskar Eustis, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Tina Howe (Pride's Crossing, Coastal Disturbances), Tony nominee Arthur Kopit (Nine, Wings), Tony nominee Marin Mazzie (Kiss Me, Kate; Ragtime), Tony winner Audra McDonald (Lady Day at Emerson's Bar & Grill, The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess), Tony-winning producer Daryl Roth (Hello, Dolly!, Groundhog Day), and the late theater critic Ernie Schier.

Founded in 1971 by Earl Blackwell, James M. Nederlander, Gerard Oestreicher, and L. Arnold Weissberger, the Theater Hall of Fame honors lifetime achievement in the American theater. To be eligible for induction, the theater professional must have given 25 years of distinguished service to the American theater and must have at least five major production credits on Broadway.

The annual ballot is voted upon by over 275 members of the Theater Hall of Fame and American drama critics. There are 10 categories and over 50 nominees to choose from. The final eight nominees receiving the most votes are ratified for the annual induction.

The 47th annual Theater Hall of Fame ceremony will be held on Monday, November 13, at New York's Gershwin Theatre (home of Broadway's Wicked).