TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

American Theatre Wing Announces Henry Hewes Design Award Recipients

Laura Jellinek, Toni-Leslie James, and more earn recognition for their theatrical designs. logo
The Band's Visit lighting designer Tyler Micoleau has been named a 2017 Henry Hewes Design Award recipient.
(© Matthew Murphy)

The American Theatre Wing has announced that five theater artists will be honored by the Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee during the presentation of its 2017 Awards in a luncheon ceremony on Tuesday, January 23, 2018.

Honors for the 2017 awards were earned by artists working on, off-, and off-off-Broadway. Scenic designer Laura Jellinek (A Life, Playwrights Horizons), costume designers Machine Dazzle (Taylor Mac: A 24-Decade History of Popular Music, St. Ann's Warehouse) and Toni-Leslie James (Come From Away, Broadway), lighting designer Tyler Micoleau (The Band's Visit, Atlantic Theater Company), and projection designer Jared Mezzocchi (Vietgone, Manhattan Theatre Club) will be honored with 2017 Henry Hewes Design Awards.

James and Micoleau have both received Henry Hewes Design Awards in the past, while Jellinek, Dazzle, and Mezzocchi will be receiving their first. For the 2017 honors, 100 theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 66 productions presented during the 2016-17 New York theater season. The Hewes Awards Committee considered more than 200 productions when making its nominations.

The annual awards recognize not only the traditional categories of scenic design, costume design, and lighting design, but also "notable effects," which encompass sound, music, video, projections, puppetry, and other creative elements. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, David Barbour, David Cote, Glenda Frank, Helen Shaw, Michael Sommers, and Martha Wade Steketee.