TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Elizabeth Ashley, Amanda Plummer, and More Earn IRNE Award Nominations

Productions of Ragtime and Merrily We Roll Along lead the musical competition.

Warhol/Capote costars Stephen Spinella and Dan Butler earned IRNE Award nominations for their work at the American Repertory Theater.
(© Gretjen Helene)

The Independent Reviewers of New England (IRNE) have announced the nominees for the 22nd annual IRNE Awards, which honor the best of the previous year's actors, directors, choreographers, designers, and companies across the full spectrum of large, mid-size, and fringe theater companies.

Huntington Theatre led all companies with 35 nominations spread across six plays and one musical, Merrily We Roll Along, which received a dozen nominations. Ragtime, which was presented by Ogunquit Playhouse, also earned a dozen nominations among the Ogunquit total of 18.

A number of Broadway veterans joined the list of nominees including Rachel York (42nd Street, Reagle Music Theatre); Sally Struthers (Bullets Over Broadway, Ogunquit Playhouse); Tony nominee Josh Young (Ragtime, Ogunquit Playhouse); and Eden Espinosa (Merrily We Roll Along, Huntington Theatre Company).

Tony winners Elizabeth Ashley and Amanda Plummer were nominated for their performances in The Night of the Iguana at the American Repertory Theater, as were Warhol/Capote costars Dan Butler and Tony winner Stephen Spinella, who also performed Rob Roth's new play at the A.R.T.

The winners will be announced on Monday, April 23, at 7:30pm in the Ballroom of the Holiday Inn Brookline/Boston. Admission will be free.

For the complete list of nominees, click here.