TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Rhianna Basore, Judy Bauerlein, and More Set for La Jolla Playhouse's The Car Plays: San Diego logo
La Jolla Playhouse has announced casting for Moving Arts' The Car Plays: San Diego, February 23-March 4.

The Car Plays is the second production in the Playhouse's site-based Without Walls (WoW) series and will feature 30 actors as well as seven local directors and four commissioned plays by current and former MFA students from UCSD's Graduate Playwriting Program.

The production is made up of a series of intimate ten-minute plays, each taking place in a car. Audiences of two move from vehicle to vehicle to experience works by different playwrights.

The cast will feature Rhianna Basore, Judy Bauerlein, Kevane La'Marr Coleman, Charles Evans Jr., Samantha Ginn, Thomas Hall, Zachary Martens, Charles Maze, Albert Park, John Polak, Will Tulin, Wendy Waddell, Reed Willard, Eddie Yaroch, Michael Zlotnik, Wendy Elizabeth Abraham, Laura Buckles, Rebecca Davis, Tony DeCarlo, Lisa Goodman, D.J. Harner, Ron Morehouse, Trey Nichols, Donald Rizzo, Michael Shutt, Peter James Smith, Sean Tweedale, Sara Wagner, David Youse, and Cashae Monya.

Playwrights include Jennifer Barclay, Lila Rose Kaplan, Alex Lewin, and David Myers. Featured directors will be University of San Diego theatre faculty member Lisa Berger, UCSD Theatre Professor Robert Castro, Ion Theatre Executive Artistic Director Claudio Raygoza, Mo'olelo Artistic Director Seema Sueko, North Coast Rep Artistic Associate Matt Thompson, Moxie Theatre Artistic Director Delicia Turner-Sonnenberg, and San Diego REPertory Theatre Artistic Director Sam Woodhouse.

For more information and tickets to The Car Plays: San Diego, click here.

Tagged in this Story