TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Rose Byrne, Edie Falco, and More Announced as Obie Awards Presenters

Current Broadway stars Mike Faist, Jefferson Mays, and Jayne Houdyshell also make the list. logo
Rose Byrne will be among the presenters at tonight's Obie Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The American Theatre Wing and the Village Voice have announced the star-studded lineup of presenters for tonight's 62nd Annual Obie Awards. The event will be held at Webster Hall.

This year's presenters will include Academy Award winner Chris Cooper, Rose Byrne, Edie Falco, Academy Award and Obie Award winners Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, two-time Obie Award winner Jayne Houdyshell, Lena Hall, two-time Obie Award winner Jefferson Mays, Obie Award winner LaChanze, Obie Award winner Daphne Rubin-Vega, Obie Award winner Taylor Mac, Obie Award winner Darius de Haas, Mike Faist, Obie Award winner J. Smith-Cameron, three-time Obie Award winner David Henry Hwang, two-time Obie Award winner Derek McLane, Obie Award winner William Ivey Long, Emilio Sosa, Peter Barbey, and Village Voice columnist and longtime chair of the Obie judges Michael Feingold.

The evening will also include special performances by Lena Hall, Obie Award winner Daphne Rubin-Vega, Katrina Lenk, Kecia Lewis, Austin Reed Alleman, Jessie Shelton, Storm Thomas, William Youmans, and Daniel Bellomy. As was previously announced, Obie and Screen Actors Guild Award-winning actress Lea DeLaria will return as the host, with Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Paula Vogel receiving a special Obie Award for Lifetime Achievement.

The Obie Award judge's panel for this season include Feingold, Obie- and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Ayad Akhtar, Entertainment Weekly theater critic Melissa Rose Bernardo, Obie-winning actor-singer Darius de Haas, Village Voice theater critic Miriam Felton-Dansky, Obie-winning actor Daphne Rubin-Vega, and Obie-winning actor J. Smith Cameron.

The Obies, which recognize off-Broadway artists and productions worthy of distinction, were originally created by the Village Voice. The American Theatre Wing, founder of the Tony Awards, has partnered with the Voice to copresent the Obies.

For tickets and more information, click here.