TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Carmen de Lavallade and A.R. Gurney to Receive Obies for Lifetime Achievement

The pair will be honored for their careers in theater.

Carmen de Lavallade will be honored with a 2016 Lifetime Achievement Obie Award.
(© David Gordon)

This year's Obie Awards, to be held Monday, May 23, at Webster Hall, will honor playwright A.R. Gurney (Sylvia) and actor, dancer, and choreographer Carmen de Lavallade (A Streetcar Named Desire) with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The American Theatre Wing and the Village Voice present this year's Obie Awards, the second ceremony to take place under the new partnership. The Obies were originally created by the Village Voice to encourage off-Broadway theater and to acknowledge its achievements.

The Obie Awards judging panel is led by longtime Obie committee chairman and TheaterMania contributor Michael Feingold, as well as past winners Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Oliver Butler, Ricky Ian Gordon, Clint Ramos, and Juliet Rylance, plus critic Marilyn Stasio.

For the second year in a row, Orange Is the New Black favorite Lea DeLaria will host.

For tickets and more information, click here.