Theater News

The Drama League Names 2014 Directors Project Fellows

Eleven rising directors will gain the experience of a lifetime.

Gabriel Shanks is the executive director of the Drama League.
Gabriel Shanks is the executive director of the Drama League.
(© David Gordon)

The Drama League has named the 11 stage directors who have been selected as 2014 Fellows of The Drama League Directors Project.

In alphabetical order, the recipients are Zi Alikhan, Melissa Crespo, John Michael DiResta, Ellie Heyman, Lavina Jadhwani, Michael Leibenluft, Michael Osinki, Hannah Ryan, Teya Sugareva, Caitlin Sullivan, and Emma Weinstein.

The directors, who will spend the next year as part of the award-winning program, have been awarded fellowships to work in New York and Massachusetts, at Ithaca's Hangar Theatre, Pittsfield's Barrington Stage Company, and Lenox's Shakespeare & Company.

"The Drama League Directors Project kicks off its fourth decade with a vastly expanded Class of 2014," Executive Director Gabriel Shanks said in a statement. "I couldn't be more proud to present these talented artists to the larger community, and to watch them take the next steps in their career development."

The fellowships begin on May 12, and the directors will be introduced to the theatrical community during the 80th Annual Drama League Awards on May 16 at the New York Marriott Marquis.

Featured In This Story