Theater News

T.V. Carpio Returns to Role of Arachne in Broadway’s Spider-Man

T.V. Carpio
(© David Gordon)
T.V. Carpio
(© David Gordon)

T.V. Carpio, who plays Arachne in the new musical Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark, has returned to the musical as of the Friday, April 1 performance, according to production spokesperson, Rick Miramontez.

As previously reported, Carpio was injured during a performance in mid-March, and her role was covered by America Olivo during her absence. Olivo previously played the role after its originator, Natalie Mendoza, was injured early in the run and eventually left the production.

After numerous delays to the official press opening, the show is currently scheduled to open on Tuesday, June 14 and all performances between April 18 and May 11 have been canceled as have performances on June 12, 14, and 15. Additional performances are scheduled for Monday, June 13 at 7:30pm and Saturday, June 17 at 2pm.

The show’s director and co-creator, Julie Taymor, has given up day-to-day supervision of the musical, with Philip William McKinley hired to implement new staging. The musical’s book — which Taymor co-wrote with Glen Berger – is being revamped by playwright and comic book author Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. The show’s composer and lyricist, Bono and The Edge of the band U2, are also adding additional songs to the show. Veteran musical consultant Paul Bogaev, sound designer Peter Hylenski, and choreographer Chase Brock have all also recently joined the creative team.

The musical is inspired by over 40 years of Marvel comic books. It follows the story of teenager Peter Parker, whose unremarkable life is turned upside-down when he’s bitten by a genetically altered spider and must learn that with great powers comes great responsibility.

The show also stars Reeve Carney as Peter Parker/Spider-Man, Jennifer Damiano as Mary Jane Watson, Patrick Page as Norman Osborn/The Green Goblin. It features Michael Mulheren, Ken Marks, Isabel Keating, Jeb Brown, Mat Devine, Gideon Glick, Jonathan Schwartz, Matthew James Thomas, Laura Beth Wells, Matt Caplan, Dwayne Clark, Luther Creek, Kevin Aubin, Gerald Avery, Collin Baja, Marcus Bellamy, Emmanuel Brown, Daniel Curry, Erin Elliott, Craig Henningsen, Dana Marie Ingraham, Ayo Janeen Jackson, Heather Lang, Alice Lee, Ari Loeb, Natalie Lomonte, Kevin Loomis, Kristin Martin, Jodi McFadden, Kristen Oei, Jennifer Christine Perry, Kyle Post, Brandon Rubendall, Sean Samuels, Dollar Tan, and Christopher Tierney.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story