Theater News

Raena White, Britney Coleman, Rashidra Scott Set for Marriott Theater’s Dreamgirls

Dreamgirls logo
Dreamgirls logo

Chicago’s Marriott Theatre will present the Tony Award-winning Dreamgirls, with book and lyrics by Tom Eyen and music by Henry Krieger, August 22-November 4, with an opening on August 29.

Dreamgirls follows the rags to riches story of a young female 1960s Motown group from Chicago. The show is under the direction of Marc Robin and features Terry James as executive producer, Aaron Thielen as lead artistic director, and Andy Hite as artistic director.

The cast includes Raena White as Effie (Eleasha Gamble on select performances), Britney Coleman as Deena, Rashidra Scott as Lorrell, Eric LaJuan Summer as James Thunder Early, and Byron Glenn Willis as Curtis Taylor. Kevin Barthel, Brian Bohr, Darilyn Burtley, Ivory Doublette, Jonathan Butler-Duplessis, Malynda Hale, James Earl Jones II, Evan Tyrone Martin, Trinity Murdock, Brian-Alwyn Newland, Alexis J. Rogers, Kelvin Roston Jr., Lorenzo Rush Jr., Travis Turner, and Adrienne Walker also star.

Click here for more information and Dreamgirls tickets.

Featured In This Story


Closed: November 4, 2012