Music News

NBC to Drop Smash Cast Album for Fictional Musical Bombshell

The musical-within-the-show makes its album debut.

Debra Messing
Debra Messing
© David Gordon

NBC and Columbia Records have announced that they will be releasing a 22-track cast recording of the fictional musical Bombshell, the show-within-a-show that serves as the focal point of the hit TV show Smash, on February 12.

The album, handed out at yesterday’s Television Critics’ Association press tour, will feature music from both seasons of Smash, and the voices of stars Katherine McPhee (American Idol) and Megan Hilty (9 to 5) as well as other Smash, or rather Bombshell, cast members.

Season 2 of Smash will premiere on NBC on February 5th, right before the album drops. The all-star cast includes the Emmy Award winner Debra Messing (Will and Grace) as Julia Houston as well as Broadway veteran Tony Award winner Christian Borle (Peter and the Starcatcher) as Tom Levitt. They will be joined by more heavy hitters, like Academy Award winner Jennifer Hudson (Dreamgirls), Tony Award nominee Jeremy Jordan (Newsies), and Emmy Award winner and Messing’s fellow Will and Grace alum Sean Hayes.

If you’re itching for spoilers, check out the track listing below for hints of the new material:

1. Let Me Be Your Star (Extended Intro)

2. At Your Feet

3. Smash!

4. Never Give All The Heart

5. The 20th Century Mambo

6. The National Pastime

7. History is Made at Night

8. I Never Met a Wolf Who Didn’t Love To Howl

9. Mr. & Mrs. Smith

10. Don’t Say Yes Until I Finish Talking

11. On Lexington & 52nd St

12. Cut, Print…Moving On

13. Public Relations

14. Dig Deep

15. Second Hand White Baby Grand

16. They Just Keep Moving The Line

17. Let’s Be Bad

18. The Right Regrets

19. (Let’s Start) Tomorrow Tonight

20. Our Little Secret

21. Hang The Moon

22. Don’t Forget Me

We may have to wait until February to find out the fates of our heroines Karen Cartwright and Ivy Lynn, but we already know the fate of Julia Houston’s scarves (rest in peace.) These on-set photos should tide us over.