Theater News

Nathan Lane, Matthew Broderick, and More Set for 26th Annual Gypsy of the Year

The event is the culmination of six weeks of fundraising for Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS.

Nathan Lane and Matthew Broderick will star in the Broadway premiere of Terrence McNally's It's Only a Play this fall.
Matthew Broderick and Nathan Lane will take part in this year’s Gypsy of the Year.
(© Tristan Fuge)

A host of Broadway veterans including Nathan Lane and Matthew Broderick will appear at the 26th annual edition of Gypsy of the Year, to be held December 8 and 9 at the New Amsterdam Theatre. The event, presented by Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS, caps off weeks of post-performance fundraising by various Broadway, off-Broadway, and touring productions.

Broderick and Lane of It’s Only a Play aren’t the only stars who’ll make appearances. The roster also includes Michael C. Hall and Lena Hall (Hedwig and the Angry Inch), James Monroe Iglehart (Aladdin), Anika Larsen and Jarrod Spector (Beautiful — The Carole King Musical), and Judith Light (The Assembled Parties).

Selecting the award winners for the best presentations during the show are judges including Julie Halston (You Can’t Take It With You), Adam Jacobs and Courtney Reed (Aladdin), Alex Sharp (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time), Micah Stock (It’s Only a Play), Jujamcyn Theatres Executive Vice President Paul Libin, BC/EFA staffer Yvonne Ghareeb, and auction winners Lee Perlman and Peg Wendland.

This year’s Gypsy of the Year will pay tribute to the 40th anniversary of the musical The Wiz, featuring an opening number that reunites original stars Dee Dee Bridgewater, André De Shields, and Ken Page, along with Broadway’s Charl Brown, Carly Hughes, Keke Palmer, Christina Sajous, Alton Fitzgerald White, and Lillias White, who will also close the show by singing “Home.” The opening number was created by T. Oliver Reid, Brian Harlan Brooks, and Ben Cohn.

Broadway and radio personality Seth Rudetsky serves as host.

Gypsy of the Year is sponsored by The New York Times and United Airlines.

For tickets to Gypsy of the Year, click here.