Theater News

Michael McElroy, Adam Kantor, and More Set to Mentor for the Jimmy Awards

Ben Platt will host the annual high school theater honors.

Michael McElroy will serve as a mentor at the Jimmy Awards.
Michael McElroy will serve as a mentor at the Jimmy Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The 2017 National High School Musical Theatre Awards, also known as the Jimmy Awards, has announced the industry coaches for its ninth annual event, taking place Monday, June 26, at 7:30pm at the Minskoff Theatre, home of The Lion King. Dear Evan Hansen Tony winner Ben Platt will host the show.

The six coaches, serving as mentors of the nominees, are Andréa Burns, Randy Graff, Adam Kantor, Schele Kleinberger, Michael McElroy, and Howard McGillin.

As previously reported, the full list of nominees is as follows:

Trey Caperton and Kayla Fallick (Popejoy Hall), Felix Torrez and Liz Valentin (Fox Cities Performing Arts Center), Ramone Nelson and Parker Jennings (Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre), Ian Hayes and Grace Auer (Shea's Performing Arts Center), Justin Rivers and Anna Hertel (Blumenthal Performing Arts), Justin Smusz and Carly Meyer (Broadway in Chicago), Brandon Schumacker and Reyna Grace Moran (Playhouse Square), John Fredrickson and Shelby Priddy (Dallas Summer Musicals), Austin Hand and Elleon Dobias (Denver Center for the Performing Arts), Seamus Foley and Marisa Spahn (Des Moines Performing Arts), Nicholas Kraft and Kaylee Terrell (Durham Performing Arts Center), Antonio Cipriano and Catherine Elliott (Wharton Center for Performing Arts), Ian Tonroy and Jasmine Rogers (Theatre Under The Stars), Joey Myers and Stephanie Ainsworth (Starlight Theatre), Adrian Villegas and Maggie Gidden (McCoy Rigby Entertainment), Nathan Sink and Adelynn Tourondel (The Smith Center for the Performing Arts), Levi Hopkins and Jessica Lewis (MagicSpace/Utah Festival Opera & Musical Theatre), Cameron Vargas and Brighton Thomas (Hollywood Pantages/Nederlander), Max Pink and Jessica Minter (Overture Center for the Arts), Ethan Benson and Asia Smith (The Orpheum Theatre), Jacob Swanson and Addison Albert (Pittsburgh CLO/Lincoln Park Performing Arts Center), Nathan Keffer and Hatty King (Tennessee Performing Arts Center), Dean Klebonas and Maddie Rubin (Disney Theatrical Group/Camp Broadway), Lane Mongeon and Lauren Johnson (Omaha Performing Arts), Tony Moreno and Sofia Victoria Deler (Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts), William Webster and Laurel Bollard (Hollywood Pantages/Musical Theatre University), Jake Pedersen and Chloe Kehm (Pittsburgh CLO), Jack D’Angelo and Shelby Ennis (Rochester Broadway Theatre League), Preston Perez and Adriel Salinas (ACE Theatrical Group, LLC/Las Casas Foundation), Sky Frank and Jillian Strattman (Broadway/San Diego – Nederlander), Eric Gaydon and Natalie Bourgeois (Broadway San Jose), Patrick Shannon and Jaynie Parmenter (Proctors), Morgan Roberts and Samuel Bennett (5th Avenue Theatre), Briley Blade and Maggie Kuntz (The Fabulous Fox/The Muny/Fox Performing Arts Center), Christian Meany and Maggie Musco (Straz Center for the Performing Arts), Sam Primack and Briana Fleming (ASU Gammage), and Luke Gaff and Sophia Rose (Broadway in Tucson).

Nicknamed the "Jimmy Awards," the event will prepare nominees for their debut on a Broadway stage during a weeklong professional training intensive with NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway faculty members as well as other theater professionals. Winners will be selected by a panel of industry experts.

For more information, click here.

Featured In This Story