Lindsay Mendez and John Douglas Thompson Join Broadway's Carousel

The revival finds its Carrie Pipperidge and Starkeeper.

Lindsay Mendez
Lindsay Mendez will take on the role of Carrie Pipperidge in the new Broadway revival of Carousel.
(© David Gordon)

According to reports, Lindsay Mendez (Significant Other) will now take on the role of Carrie Pipperidge in the new Broadway revival of Carousel. Mendez replaces Betsy Wolfe, who previously announced she was departing the production due to scheduling difficulties.

Tony nominee John Douglas Thompson also joins the cast as the Starkeeper.

The musical, which will play the Imperial Theatre, is set to star Tony Award winner Jessie Mueller as Julie Jordan, Tony Award nominee Joshua Henry as Billy Bigelow, Renée Fleming (in her first-ever appearance in a Broadway musical) as Nettie Fowler, Alexander Gemignani as Enoch Snow, Margaret Colin as Mrs. Mullin, Amar Ramasar as Jigger, and Brittany Pollack as Louise.

Carousel first opened on Broadway on April 19, 1945. Based on Ferenc Molnár's play Liliom, Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II transported the drama from the outskirts of Budapest to a New England mill town, where the story focuses on the tragic romance between carnival barker Billy Bigelow and factory worker Julie Jordan.

The ensemble of Carousel features Colin Anderson, Yesenia Ayala, Nicholas Belton, Colin Bradbury, Andrei Chagas, Leigh-Ann Esty, Laura Feig, David Michael Garry, Garett Hawe, Rosena M. Hill Jackson, Amy Justman, Jess LeProtto, Skye Mattox, Adriana Pierce, David Prottas, Craig Salstein, Ahmad Simmons, Antoine L. Smith, Corey John Snide, Erica Spyres, Ryan Steele, Sam Strasfeld, Ricky Ubeda, Scarlett Walker, Jacob Keith Watson, and William Youmans. Additional cast members will be announced shortly.

The creative team includes four-time Tony Award winner Santo Loquasto (set design); Tony and Academy Award winner Ann Roth (costume design); nine-time Tony Award winner Jules Fisher and three-time Tony Award winner Peggy Eisenhauer (lighting design); Tony Award winner Scott Lehrer (sound design); Tony, Grammy, Emmy, and Academy Award winner Jonathan Tunick (orchestrations); and Andy Einhorn (musical supervision and direction).

For tickets and more information on Carousel, click here.