Karen Olivo, Gavin Creel, and More Announced as Jimmy Award Industry Coaches

The six coaches will mentor sixty-two high school students from across America.

Gavin Creel will be among this years industry coaches for the Jimmy Awards.
Gavin Creel will be among this years industry coaches for the Jimmy Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The National High School Musical Theatre Awards, also referred to as the Jimmy Awards in honor of producer James M. Nederlander, have announced the industry coaches for the eighth annual awards ceremony. The event will take place June 27 at the Minskoff Theatre. Zachary Levi, who is currently starring in Roundabout Theatre Company's She Loves Me on Broadway, will host.

This year's coaches will be Gavin Creel (She Loves Me), Eden Espinosa (Wicked), Jose Llana (The King and I), Michael McElroy (Disaster!), Howard McGillin (Gigi), and Karen Olivo (West Side Story). The six Broadway veterans will mentor the Jimmy's 62 high school students from across America as they compete for the Jimmy Award for Best Performance by an Actor and Actress.

Student performers qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical theater awards competitions presented by Broadway League member performing arts centers. Over 1,000 high schools and 50,000 students participate in these annual events. Since its inception in 2009, the NHSMTA has enabled over $1,000,000 in university and conservatory scholarships to be awarded to talented students at the national and local level.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story