Theater News

Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Anna Chlumsky to Host 2015 Lucille Lortel Awards

This year’s special honorees include playwright Terrence McNally and writer and composer Jeanine Tesori.

Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Anna Chlumsky will host the 30th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards.
Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Anna Chlumsky will host the 30th annual Lucille Lortel Awards.
(© Tristan Fuge) (© David Gordon)

The 30th annual Lucille Lortel Awards ceremony is set to take place May 10 at the NYU Skirball Center. The program will be hosted by Emmy Award Nominees Jesse Tyler Ferguson (Modern Family, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee) and Anna Chlumsky — a current Broadway favorite for Living on Love and You Can't Take It With You.

The special honors to be presented this year include a Lifetime Achievement Award for prolific playwright Terrence McNally, an induction onto the famed Playwrights’ Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatrewriter for writer and composer Jeanine Tesori, and the Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award for veteran general manager Nancy Nagel Gibbs.

The Lortel Awards ceremony is produced by the Off-Broadway League’s Lortel Awards Producing & Administration Committee. Acclaimed writer and director Michael Heitzman returns to direct the Lortel Awards for the sixth consecutive year. The Lucille Lortel Awards is produced by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation. Additional support provided by Theatre Development Fund.