Music News

Frozen Cast Album Sets Release Date

Caissie Levy and Patti Murin star in the musical at the St. James Theatre.

Walt Disney Records will release the original Broadway cast recording of Frozen on Friday May 11, the production has announced. This digital release precedes a physical album release date of Friday, June 8.

The album is produced by Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez, Stephen Oremus, Dave Metzger, and Chris Montan. For the recording, the pit orchestra of 21 players has been expanded to 44 musicians, including a 22-member string section. In addition to the full score, the release will come with a bonus track, an outtake of the song "When Everything Falls Apart," sung by the characters Olaf (Greg Hildreth), Kristoff (Jelani Alladin), and Anna (Patti Murin).

Watch a behind-the-scenes video from the recording session below:

Based on the hit 2013 animated film, Frozen features music and lyrics by the creators of the film score, Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, and a book by Jennifer Lee, the film's screenwriter and codirector. Michael Grandage directs, with choreography by Rob Ashford.

Frozen stars Caissie Levy (Elsa), Patti Murin (Anna), Jelani Alladin (Kristoff), Greg Hildreth (Olaf), John Riddle (Hans), and Robert Creighton (Duke of Weselton). Joining them in the principal cast are Kevin Del Aguila (Oaken), Timothy Hughes (Pabbie), Andrew Pirozzi (Sven), Mattea Conforti (Young Anna), Zoe Glick (Young Anna), Mimi Ryder (Young Elsa), Ayla Schwartz (Young Elsa), Alyssa Fox (Elsa standby), Aisha Jackson (Anna standby), and Adam Jepsen (Sven alternate).

Frozen has scenic and costume design by Tony and Olivier Award winner Christopher Oram, lighting design by six-time Tony Award winner Natasha Katz, sound design by four-time Tony nominee Peter Hylenski, video design by Tony winner Finn Ross, puppet design by Michael Curry, hair design by David Brian Brown, makeup design by Anne Ford-Coates, and special effects design by Jeremy Chernick.

Two-time Tony Award winner Stephen Oremus is music supervisor and creates vocal, incidental, and dance arrangements. He is joined on the music team by Dave Metzger (orchestrations), Chris Montan (music consultant), and Brian Usifer (music director).

For tickets and more information, click here.