Theater News

Complete Casting Announced for Ragtime

The award-winning American musical heads to Ford’s Theatre.

Jonathan Atkinson as Tateh in the Ford's Theatre production of Ragtime.
Jonathan Atkinson as Tateh in a promotional shot for the Ford's Theatre production of Ragtime.
(© Scott Suchman)

Ford's Theatre in Washington, D.C., has announced complete casting for its upcoming production of Ragtime, directed by Peter Flynn. The show will run March 10-May 20.

Based on E.L. Doctorow’s celebrated 1975 novel, the Tony Award-winning musical confronts both the unbridled optimism and the stark reality of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. When the lives of a wealthy white family, a daring Harlem musician, and a determined Jewish immigrant intersect, their fates are inextricably bound and profoundly changed. The musical features a Tony-winning book by Terrence McNally and a Tony-winning score by Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens (Anastasia).

The Ford's Theatre production will star Kevin McAllister as Coalhouse Walker Jr., Tracy Lynn Olivera as Mother, Nova Y. Payton as Sarah, and Jonathan Atkinson as Tateh. The featured company will also include Christopher Bloch (Grandfather, J.P. Morgan), Felicia Curry (Sarah’s Friend), Rayanne Gonzales (Emma Goldman), James Konicek (Father), Gregory Maheu (Younger Brother), Justine "Icy" Moral (Evelyn Nesbit), Christopher Mueller (Harry Houdini), Jefferson A. Russell (Booker T. Washington), Stephen F. Schmidt (Harry K. Thaw, Adm. Peary), John Leslie Wolfe (Henry Ford), and Elan Zafir (Stanford White, Willie Conklin).

Rounding out the ensemble will be Maria Egler, Eben K. Logan, Sean-Maurice Lynch, Ines Nassara, Rayshun LaMarr Purefoy, Karen Vincent, and Tobias Young. Henry Baratz and Holden Browne will also alternate as Little Boy, while Kylee Geraci and Dulcie Pham will alternate as Little Girl (roles rotate every other performance).

The production will feature choreography by Michael Bobbitt and music direction by Christopher Youstra. The creative team also includes costume designer Wade Laboissonniere, lighting designer Rui Rita, sound designer David Budries, hair and makeup designer Anne Nesmith, orchestrator Kim Scharnberg, dramaturg Jennifer L. Nelson, and dialects and voice director Leigh Wilson Smiley.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Featured In This Story


Closed: May 20, 2017