Theater News

Beaver, Fowler, Jennings, O’Hare, et al. Join Cast of Inherit the Wind

Denis O'Hare(© Michael Portantiere)
Denis O’Hare
(© Michael Portantiere)

Casting has been completed for the upcoming Broadway revival of the Jerome Lawrence-Robert E. Lee drama Inherit the Wind, which will be directed by Doug Hughes. The show will begin previews at the Lyceum Theatre on March 19 and will open officially on April 12 for a 16-week engagement.

Joining previously announced stars Christopher Plummer and Brian Dennehy in the cast are Terry Beaver as the Judge, Beth Fowler as Mrs. Brady, Byron Jennings as Rev. Jeremiah Brown, and Denis O’Hare as E.K. Hornbeck. Dennehy will play the role of prosecuting attorney Matthew Harrison Brady (based on William Jennings Bryan) and Plummer will play defense attorney Henry Drummond (based on Clarence Darrow).

The 34-member cast also includes Steve Brady, Anne Bowles, Bill Buell, Bill Christ, Carson Church, Conor Donovan, Lanny Flaherty, Kit Flanagan, Sherman Howard, Katie Klaus, Maggie Lacey, Jordan Lage, Mary Kate Law, Philip LeStrange, Kevin Loomis, David M. Lutken, Charlotte Maier, Matthew Nardozzi, Randall Newsome, Jay Patterson, Pippa Pearthree, Scott Sowers, Amanda Sprecher, Erik Steele, Jeff Steitzer, Henry Stram, Benjamin Walker, and Andrew Weems. The production will have set and costume design by Santo Loquasto, lighting design by Brian MacDevitt, and original music and sound design by David Van Tieghem.

Inherit the Wind is a fictionalized retelling of the famous 1925 “Monkey Trial,” in which science teacher John Scopes was tried and convicted for teaching Darwin’s theory of evolution, thereby violating a Tennessee law that forbade the teaching of any theory that conflicted with the biblical conception of divine creation.

Beaver was most recently seen on Broadway in The Caine Mutiny Court Martial. Fowler received Tony Award nominations for The Boy From Oz and Sweeney Todd. Jennings has appeared on Broadway in such shows as Heartbreak House, A Touch of the Poet, and Twelve Angry Men. O’Hare won a Tony Award for his performance in Take Me Out and is currently co-starring in CSC’s production of A Spanish Play.

Featured In This Story

Inherit the Wind

Closed: July 8, 2007