TV News

Alan Alda, Norman Lear, Ryan Murphy to Be Honored at International Emmy Awards

Alan Alda
Alan Alda
© Tristan Fuge

Stage and screen star Alan Alda and television producer Norman Lear will receive special Founders Awards during the 40th International Emmy Awards gala November 19 in New York, according to

The site also reports that during the ceremony, Ryan Murphy, co-creator of Glee and American Horror Story, will receive the 2012 International Emmy Founders Award, and Korean Broadcasting System president and CEO Kim In-Kyu will receive the Directorate Award. In addition, the International Academy will present Emmys in nine categories during the gala.

A five-time Emmy Award winner, Alda is probably best known for his work as Hawkeye Pierce on television’s M*A*S*H. In addition, he has received three Tony Award nominations, for his performances in The Apple Tree, Jake’s Women, and Glengarry Glen Ross, and has also been seen on Broadway in Art, QED, and Purlie Victorious. His play Radiance was produced at the Geffen Playhouse.