Theater News

2016 Clive Barnes Award Nominees Announced

Tony winner Joel Grey to present theater and dance awards.

Timothee Chalamet in John Patrick Shanley's Prodigal Son.
Timothee Chalamet in John Patrick Shanley's Prodigal Son.
(© Joan Marcus)

The Clive Barnes Foundation has announced the nominees for the seventh annual Clive Barnes Awards. The winners will be announced January 9 in a ceremony hosted by Michael Riedel at the Walter Reade Theater and Lincoln Center.

Theater and dance awards will be presented by Oscar and Tony winner Joel Grey (The Cherry Orchard) and New York City Ballet principle dancer Ashley Bouder. In addition, 2015 Clive Barnes Award winners Gabe Stone Shayer of American Ballet Theater and Dave Thomas Brown of The Legend of Georgia McBride, will speak at the event.

This year's Theater Award nominees are Timothee Chalamet for his performance in Prodigal Son, Juwan Crawley for his performance in Spamilton, Khris Davis for his performance in The Royale, and Nora Schell for her performance in Spamilton. The Dance Award nominees are Elena D’Amario of Parsons Dance, Spartak Hoxha of New York City Ballet, Andrea Torita of BalletX, and Indiana Woodward of New York City Ballet.

The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 to create annual awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals. The winners in each category will receive an award of $5,000 furnished by the Clive Barnes Foundation.