TheaterMania Logo
Home link

2008 IT Award Winners Are Announced

Maxime de Toledo and Bobby Steggert in Yank!
(© Mark Krieger)
The 2008 New York Innovative Theatre Awards (IT Awards), dedicated to celebrating Off-Off-Broadway, were handed out on September 22 at the Fashion Institute of Technology on September 22. The event was hosted by Lisa Kron and featured an opening number by Blue Man Group.

Living Theatre co-founder Judith Malina received the 2008 Artistic Achievement Award, and honorary awards were also given to New York Theatre Experience and the Boomerang Theatre Company at the event.

Yank! was named Outstanding Production of a Musical; Burn, Crave, Hold: The James Wilde Project was named Outstanding Production of a Play; Removable Parts was named Outstanding Performance Art Production; Vampire Cowboys Theatre Company's Fight Girl Battle World received awards for Outstanding Ensemble, Outstanding Choreography and Movement for Qui Nguyen, and Outstanding Costume Design for Jessica Wegener; and playwright Bekah Brunstetter won Outstanding Full-Length Script for You May Go Now.

Acting winners were Andrea Caban (You Got Questions? I Got Answers!), Cameron J. Oro (The Accidental Patriot); Rob Sheridan (The Two Lives of Napoleon Beazley); Stephanie Barton-Fracas (Elizabeth Rex); and Megan Byrne (No End of Blame).

For a complete list of winners, visit