TheaterMania Logo
Home link

The Public Theater's The Fortress of Solitude to Receive Cast Recording

The world premiere musical features a book by Itamar Moses with music and lyrics by Michael Friedman.

Rebecca Naomi Jones and the company of The Fortress of Solitude in rehearsal.
(© Tammy Shell)

Ghostlight Records will record an original cast album of The Fortress of Solitude, a world premiere musical currently playing at the Public Theater, on November 18 and 19 for release later this season. The recording will be produced by Dean Sharenow and Kurt Deutsch.

Based on the best-selling novel of the same name by 2005 MacArthur Fellow Jonathan Lethem, The Fortress of Solitude features a book by Itamar Moses and music and lyrics by Michael Friedman. It is a coming-of-age story that takes place in 1970s Brooklyn. Daniel Aukin directs. The Public mounting is a coproduction with Dallas Theater Center.

The complete cast of The Fortress of Solitude includes Ken Barnett (Abraham Ebdus), Kyle Beltran (Mingus), Adam Chanler-Berat (Dylan), André de Shields (Senior), Carla Duren (Marilla), Rebecca Naomi Jones (Lala, Abby), Jahi Kearse (Raf, Henry, Desmond, Jared), Kevin Mambo (Junior), Malaiyka Reid (Swing), Noah Ricketts (Swing), David Rossmer (Arthur), Conor Ryan (Radio Guy, Mike, Gabe), Kristen Sieh (Rachel Ebdus), Britton Smith (Subtle Distinction), Brian Tyree Henry (Robert), Akron Watson (Subtle Distinction), Alison Whitehurst (Skater Girl, Liza), and Juson Williams (Subtle Distinction).

For tickets and more information, click here.