TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Once's John Tiffany and Steven Hoggett Win Callaway Awards logo

Steve Kazee and Cristin Milioti in Once
(© Joan Marcus)
The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation has announced that Once director John Tiffany and choreographer Steven Hoggett are the winners of the 2012 Joe A. Callaway Awards, which recognize excellence in the craft of directing and choreography during the New York City theater season.

Tiffany accepted both awards in person at the group's November 15 ceremony in New York. Hoggett, who is working on the new show Rocky in Germany, sent word to the presenters that he was, "very moved to receive this award from his peers."

Once, which is based on the film of the same name, is currently playing at Broadway's Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre. The show won eight Tony Awards, including Best Musical.

In addition to Tiffany and Hoggett, this year's nominees included directors Rachel Dickstein (Septimus & Clarissa), Charlotte Moore (Dancing at Lughnasa), and Jenn Thompson (Lost in Yonkers), as well as choreographers Mimi Lieber (As You Like It), and Kurt Stamm (Maltby and Shire's Closer than Ever).

The Callaway Committee, comprised of Melvin Bernhardt, Leslie (Hoban) Blake, Linda Burson, Hope Clarke, Edie Cowan, John Going, Gus Kaikkonen, Sue Lawless, Lorna Littleway, William G. Martin Jr., Barry McNabb, Michael Montel, and Tony Parise, selected the finalists from more than 300 productions considered this season.