TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lisa Brescia, Tituss Burgess, and More to Perform at York Theatre Company's 9th Annual NEO Concert

The one-night-only event will celebrate the "new," "emerging," and "outstanding" artists embarking on York Theatre Company's year-long mentorship program. logo

Tituss Burgess
(© Tristan Fuge)
On Monday, May 20, the York Theatre Company will host its 9th annual NEO benefit concert. The event will feature the works of "new," "emerging," and "outstanding" musical theater writers including Julianne Wick Davis, Carmel Dean, Kait Kerrigan, Rebekah Greer Melocik, and Georgia Stitt.

Their music will be performed by a number of seasoned Broadway veterans including Tony Award winner LaChanze (The Color Purple), Tony Award nominee Kate Baldwin (Giant), Drama Desk Award nominee Kate Wetherhead (The Other Josh Cohen), Drama Desk Award nominee Michael Winther (Songs from an Unmade Bed), Lisa Brescia (The Times They Are A-Changin'), Tituss Burgess (Guys and Dolls), Heath Calvert (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson) , Meghann Fahy (Next To Normal) , Elizabeth Ward Land (Scandalous) , Marja Harmon (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof), Sally Wilfert (Assassins), as well as a performance by The Hartt School Ensemble.

Directed by Annette Jolles, with music direction by Matt Castle, this performance will mark the beginning of a busy year for the featured NEO artists. Each will receive a fully funded developmental reading for one of their new works and will be assigned a producing mentor. Some of these mentors planning to make a special appearance the night of the benefit include Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty, Jeanine Tesori, Rachel Sheinkin, and Michael John LaChiusa.

For more information, click here.


Tagged in this Story